Clock icon

Clock icon

Reviews




 53 Verified Review(s)

Cabinet Painting and Refinishing in Fairfield and Greenwich

If you'd like to have the best painters in Fairfield, Greenwich, Stamford, Norwalk, Easton, Westport, Cos Cob, Weston, Wilton, West Chester County NY and surrounding areas paint your house, give Preference Painting LLC a call today. We work hard to ensure that we exceed all customer expectations. With every painting project, we strive to be considered the best painters in Fairfield, CT, and the surrounding area. But don't just take our word for it, read our house painting reviews below and see what our customers have to say.

reviewicon
06/28/2023

Alex is a true craftsman who treats every job as if he were painting his own kitchen cabinets. This is a time-consuming process that requires patience, skill and dedication to obtain a perfect finished result. We wanted to have a faux finish applied to the cabinets after Alex had finished his work, and he interfaced seamlessly with the faux finish painter who wanted the cabinet painting by Alex applied in a manner that would support her artistry. The photos below show the transformation of two parts of our kitchen from a dark stained finish on cherry wood into a pleasing off-white finish that has a traditional warm elegance with the faux finish applied to Alex's work. To say that we were pleased with the result would be a gross understatement. We are simply ecstatic.



reviewicon
06/19/2023

If you need a professional cabinet painter, Alex is your man. Alex was very attentive to detail, showed up one time when he said he would, very clean and has surpassed my expectations on the quality of workmanship.



reviewicon
06/02/2023

We hired Alex after interviewing several cabinet painters. We felt his attention to detail would lend to optimal results. We are glad we worked with him, he handled our project with the upmost care and we appreciate the time he invested in making sure our kitchen came out flawless. This was a challenging project, but Alex did not give up until it was done right. We highly recommend him to anyone looking to paint their cabinets! Thank you Alex, we LOVE our new kitchen!!!!



reviewicon
04/06/2023

Alex re-painted all of our kitchen cabinetry and we have a large kitchen. He changed the paint we had originally used, because his extensive experience told him it was not durable. He is extremely good at what he does and on top of that, he's a pleasure to have around. Quiet, efficient, and super neat! You are lucky if you use Alex. You will love his work!



reviewicon
01/06/2023

Alex just refurbished and painted our kitchen cabinets, and he did a terrific job! We are so happy with how the project came out. He is a true professional and works very efficiently. Our cabinets look brand new, and we would have no hesitation in recommending Alex to our family and friends. He is a true craftsman.



reviewicon
12/20/2022

Alex is extremely professional and considerate. He is a top quality client-driven cabinet painter. I am very pleased with the results! I highly recommend using him for your next project.



reviewicon
11/25/2022

Alex is simply the best! Beautiful work, timely and reasonable prices. I have beautiful kitchen cabinets for the holidays. His work is flawless. My cabinets look like new. 5 stars!



reviewicon
11/21/2022

Let me tell you about Alex and his company. TOP NOTCH! I had a horrible experience with another cabinet company in Utah, refinishing the cabinets similar to what Alex did for us here in Oxford. It took 1.5 years - YEARS - for that company to finish the job. Explained that to Alex and have renewed confidence. He came to the quoting appointment on time, set realistic expectations, was reasonably priced but best of all, have fabulous looking cabinets now, right before the holidays. Wish I knew more people needing this services as I cannot be more pleased. Don't call anyone else, work with Alex. Above and beyond! Thank you so very, very much from two very happy customers. Lisa & Kirk.



reviewicon
10/10/2022

We had an excellent experience working with Alex who painted our kitchen cabinets. Alex is professional, responsive and meticulous. We would definitely hire him again.



reviewicon
08/14/2022

Alex is a rare gem! Very skilled and meticulous, cleans up, goes way above and beyond. My kitchen cabinets are amazing and he painted a room and stairs for me. Everything looks great! I can't recommend him enough!



reviewicon
07/31/2022

It took my Husband and I a lot of researching to finally come to the decision of painting our cabinets. I was PETRIFIED! Lol. I have original solid oak cabinets from 1960. After realizing that we will never have the same quality cabinets if we chose to replace we decided to find a professional to paint them! Alex was AMAZING. Very friendly, understanding of my concerns and just an all around great person to work with. When the job was done i couldn't even remember what my kitchen looked like prior!! It is remarkable. He worked fast, efficient and flawless. If you are considering painting your cabinets, LOOK NO FURTHER! You will not be disappointed.



reviewicon
07/18/2022

I really can't say enough about Alex and the work. We had him paint our oak cabinets white and the kitchen looks brand new. We are incredibly happy with how it turned out. Alex has great attention to detail and the quality of the work was top notch. He was also on-time and great with communication throughout the project.



reviewicon
03/21/2022

Alex is very detail oriented and very good at communicating through the whole process.



reviewicon
02/07/2022

We hired Alex to change all of our kitchen cabinets from reddish brown to ivory white, and the island to espresso. When we first met with Alex, he explained in detail the process he would use, he provided options, and he clearly took great pride in his craft and his customers' satisfaction. The quote for the project was comparable to others we had received, though I believe Alex's value is a cut above. One of the deciding factors for us, was that Alex would remove the doors and drawer faces (quite a few) and work on them at his shop, in a controlled environment, whereas others had asked to work out of our garage. Having carefully cleaned and taped up our kitchen, he then sprayed the installed fixtures. (Note: all the work included two coats of primer). He also painted two barstools to match the island, he applied poly for protection on all the surfaces (it added no additional shine), and he went the extra mile on details, for example taking the time to make a capping strip for the jagged fixture cuts around our dishwasher. Our 15-year old dark cabinets now look brighter and better than ever, and the kitchen more brilliant and open. Alex did a phenomenal job top to bottom, he finished the project in a reasonable time, though never rushed, and he was a pleasure to have working in our home. We look forward to having Alex back in the coming weeks to paint the kitchen walls and an adjacent room, including venetian plaster treatment.



reviewicon
12/20/2021

Alex transformed our kitchen by making our dark cabinets a soft white. The work was done carefully in just a few weeks and the finish looks like it was always white. We are thrilled with the results!



reviewicon
11/22/2021

I absolutely love my new painted cabinets, it feels like a brand new kitchen. Alex was an absolute pleasure to work with, he is professional and personable. He was always here when he said he would be and kept to a timeline he promised. I highly recommend this company!



reviewicon
11/10/2021

Our kitchen was transformed! We are so happy with Alex Germaine, a hardworking professional painter. He was very respectful of our time and focused on a wonderful result. Thank you so much, we are happy to recommend!



reviewicon
10/05/2021

Alex repainted our kitchen cabinets. Great job. We are very satisfied with his work. Very, very meticulous and neat. The finish looks factory perfect. We highly recommend.



reviewicon
09/18/2021

Alex painted my dark cherry kitchen cabinets a beautiful white. He gave me a brand new kitchen ! People think I bought brand new cabinets. Alex was detailed and professional. He is a true craftsman with his attention to detail. I already have Alex lined up for a bathroom project next.



reviewicon
08/20/2021

Alex was personable, respectful, honest, efficient and was extremely well versed and knowledgeable . Our entire kitchen cabinet paint was in bad shape He evaluated and remediated the issues in a timely manner. Now we have a beautiful kitchen!



reviewicon
06/19/2021

Service provided was excellent! Very happy with the outcome. Alex was great and very accommodating. I recommend him and his excellent work.



reviewicon
01/16/2021

My experience was a terrific one !!! I had Alex paint my oak honey colored kitchen cabinets grey with the grain coming through which was very important to me . He did an awesome job and they look fabulous, a great updated look. He is now working on 3 bathrooms with the same cabinets in 3 different colors very exciting . He is such a pleasure to work with. If you are looking for professional workmanship, details to everything he is your guy. Always on time , returns messages, and just plain nice. Don't hesitate on calling him. Diane Ard



reviewicon
01/22/2021

Alex did a fantastic job painting our cabinets from wood to a creamy white. He was a pleasure to deal with and offered good value and exceptional quality. He was on time everyday, was methodical, and had great attention to detail. We would be happy to have Alex do more work for us.



reviewicon
12/26/2020

I called Al at the suggestion of a friend. A true professional when it comes to the quality of his work. Personable, clean & great attention to detail made this project headache free for me. I would strongly recommend Preference Painting for anyone looking to restore their kitchen cabinets.



reviewicon
12/24/2020

Alex did an amazing job. Our kitchen cabinets had a polyurethane coding so it required sanding down and repainting all of them. Alex made them look like brand new and the whole job only took a couple of days. He's professional and experienced and a pleasure to work with.



reviewicon
12/21/2020

Alex was great and highly recommended from our close friends. His attention to detail was greatly appreciated, and he painted our cabinets, oven hood, island, and chairs. All look like factory new.



reviewicon
11/18/2020

Can't say enough good things about my experience with Alex. He was professional, punctual, reliable, focused, pleasant and very talented. He transformed my kitchen in an extraordinary way! Would not hesitate to recommend Alex!



reviewicon
11/13/2020

Very good job



reviewicon
12/06/2019

If you are investing in your home, your are smart. The best equity is created with a kitchen upgrade. Alex did several kitchens for us. His expertise saved us $$$ in the long run. Using Preference Painting was a gain for us!



reviewicon
04/25/2022

We are extremely happy with Alex and Preference Painting!! The entire process was pain free and our kitchen is truly rejuvenated! Thank you Alex!



reviewicon
08/10/2021

Alex Germaine, owner of Preference Painting, LLC, just completed the painting of our kitchen cabinets and island and we could not be more pleased. Alex came highly recommended by our good friends Dan and Nancy S. and Don D. who had their kitchen cabinets painted by Alex with such beautiful results. Alex is a true professional and most excellent at his craft. He has a strong background in his industry and takes such great pride in his workmanship. He is extremely client oriented, highly disciplined, very focused and motivated, always on time, very clean and worked so well with us throughout the project. His suggestions were spot on when we needed advice. We also had Alex do additional painting in different rooms inside of our home. We strongly recommend Alex Germaine and Preference Painting, LLC!!! Robert and Jeannie C.



reviewicon
02/12/2019

My kitchen cabinets look amazing! Alex did such a great job you would not even know that they were painted, he is a true craftsman and takes extreme pride in his work. I can not say enough about about the quality and excellence of his service and price. Always on time, extremely clean, meticulous and goes above and beyond. We could not be happier. Thank you!



reviewicon
02/17/2021

Preference Painting is amazing and provides high quality work. We used their services in the past, and had another project now that Alex did beautifully, as usual. He's also a wonderful person to have around. Highly, highly recommended!



reviewiconBest Cabinet Painters
Easton, CT
08/02/2020

They were professional, did great, neat work and would use them again.



reviewicon
04/30/2019

Alex is a true professional and artist. My kitchen cabinets look amazing. He is true to his word. If you want to see my kitchen or speak to me first hand - feel free to reach out. You can use Alex with complete confidence of excellent work!



reviewiconLong Time Favorite Cabinet Painting Experts
Fairfield, CT
03/10/2020

I have worked with Preference Painting for years now and have found them to be the best out there for all your painting needs. The level of professionalism and artistry is above anybody else in the industry. I would not use any other company ever!! Try them I promise you will be delighted.



reviewicon
01/15/2019

I would definitely refer Preference Painting! You will be beyond happy with the service. The level of professionalism and cleanliness is above all others. Al is a true artist! Do yourself a favor and call today!!


reviewicon
01/25/2019

Alex is a detailed Professional. He tells it like it is, and is very informative about what he does. A pleasure to work with!!



reviewiconGreat Cabinet Refinishing and Painting Company
Fairfield, CT
02/24/2020

The hardest part of this review is to choose just three of the items to respond about. Our experience with Alex was completely positive. The quality of his work is top notch. You will not find better. His demeanor and actions are totally professional. His responsiveness is immediate. His punctuality is exact and the value of his work clear. We could not have made a better choice to redo our cabinets, paint our entire interior and entrust our home improvement. A professional in every sense of the word, whose pride in what he does shines through in his work and outcome. It is not often one can give this type of recommendation and I am proud to do it here.



reviewicon
01/25/2019

Alex from Preference was professional and reliable! His work was impeccable! My kitchen cabinets look brand new! We will refer him and use him again.



reviewiconBest Kitchen Cabinet Painters
Fairfield, CT
02/12/2019

My kitchen cabinets look amazing! Alex did such a great job you would not even know that they were painted, he is a true craftsman and takes extreme pride in his work. I can not say enough about the quality and excellence of his service and price. Always on time, extremely clean, meticulous and goes above and beyond. We could not be happier. Thank you!



reviewiconBest Interior Painting and Cabinet Refinishing
Norwalk, CT
05/24/2018

Alex was very professional and performed the job with great care and consideration. He was very meticulous in his work. Everything looks fantastic in our 'new' kitchen. I would highly recommend him.



reviewiconFairfield, CT
04/04/2018

Alex , the owner of Preference Painting was outstanding! I had extremely old cabinets caked with paint... the work involved to restore them and repaint was intensive and he did a wonderful job. He also re-installed the cabinet doors with new hinges and literally spent an entire day making sure everything was as level and straight as possible! Alex is very professional and patient! I can't recommend him highly enough!



reviewicon
02/08/2018

Very thorough, easy-going, and timely.



reviewiconStamford, CT
01/26/2018

Alex is a true pro. He is honest and straight forward. The quality of his work and the final product is amazing.



reviewiconWestport, CT
07/20/2017

I cannot tell you how awesome Alex has been. The quality Inn care was amazing and the final product also amazing. On time on budget!



reviewicon
02/28/2017

Alex is very conscientious, hard working and personable.



reviewicon
11/11/2016

He's dependable, does good work and we were so happy with the results, we had him back for another job. He is prompt and shows up when he says he will. He is also trustworthy; I felt comfortable leaving him alone in my home.



reviewicon
10/11/2016

Not sure what else to say but Thank you. I never write reviews but didn't know how else to show my appreciation for a job well done. Alex came in and did an amazing job on my kitchen cabinets after they were ruined by someone else i hired. His work was excellent and he finished the job within a week as promised. I will definitely be using him again when another project around the home comes up. I highly recommend him



reviewiconStamford, CT
09/23/2016

Clean, on time and on budget. Highly recommend.



reviewicon
08/12/2016

Alex is a true professional. He explained the process fully. He showed up and on time. His work is excellent.



reviewicon
04/14/2016

Alex is a rare craftsman. We hired him to refinish our cabinets, which were quite distressed. He did an incredible job. He is thoughtful, meticulous, and has a keen eye for detail. We could not be more pleased with his work.



reviewiconStamford, CT
03/17/2016

Alex is very professional. His appreciation of color and design differentiates him from other contractors, especially for a project like cabinet refinish. He was very cooperative with work schedule demand as well.



reviewicon
12/16/2015

Alex is professional, thoughtful, clean, neat, pleasant to work with. Alex took on a very difficult paint project and did a perfect job. I would recommended him with out question. He is currently doing my kitchen cabinets.


reviewicon
11/09/2015

Alex was understanding and easy to work with.



Preference Painting LLC can help you improve the look of your home at a fraction of the time that it would take you to do it yourself and at a very reasonable price. We'll work closely with you to understand the exact cost of painting your house right down to the smallest detail.

Get the best house painters in the Fairfield, CT area, and choose Preference Painting LLC for your next house painting project. We'll make it our goal to make you so happy with our work your review will be the next positive customer review that we feature. We'll be happy to give you a free quote. Call us today at 914-698-9522, or request a free estimate using our web form.


what our customers say

Alex is a true craftsman who treats every job as if he were painting his own kitchen cabinets. This is a time-consuming process that requires patience, skill and dedication to obtain a perfect finished result. We wanted to have a faux finish applied to the cabinets after Alex had finished his work, and he interfaced seamlessly with the faux finish painter who wanted the cabinet painting by Alex applied in a manner that would support her artistry. The photos below show the transformation of two parts of our kitchen from a dark stained finish on cherry wood into a pleasing off-white finish that has a traditional warm elegance with the faux finish applied to Alex's work. To say that we were pleased with the result would be a gross understatement. We are simply ecstatic.
A
, 06/28/2023

If you need a professional cabinet painter, Alex is your man. Alex was very attentive to detail, showed up one time when he said he would, very clean and has surpassed my expectations on the quality of workmanship.
C
, 06/19/2023

We hired Alex after interviewing several cabinet painters. We felt his attention to detail would lend to optimal results. We are glad we worked with him, he handled our project with the upmost care and we appreciate the time he invested in making sure our kitchen came out flawless. This was a challenging project, but Alex did not give up until it was done right. We highly recommend him to anyone looking to paint their cabinets! Thank you Alex, we LOVE our new kitchen!!!!
R
, 06/02/2023

Alex re-painted all of our kitchen cabinetry and we have a large kitchen. He changed the paint we had originally used, because his extensive experience told him it was not durable. He is extremely good at what he does and on top of that, he's a pleasure to have around. Quiet, efficient, and super neat! You are lucky if you use Alex. You will love his work!
D
, 04/06/2023

Alex just refurbished and painted our kitchen cabinets, and he did a terrific job! We are so happy with how the project came out. He is a true professional and works very efficiently. Our cabinets look brand new, and we would have no hesitation in recommending Alex to our family and friends. He is a true craftsman.
T
, 01/06/2023

Alex is extremely professional and considerate. He is a top quality client-driven cabinet painter. I am very pleased with the results! I highly recommend using him for your next project.
L
, 12/20/2022

  • Home Advisor
  • Home Advisor
  • Home Advisor
[FOOTER_OVERLAY]